Participants in the Selma march included:

Saul Berman | Congregation Beth Israel, Berkeley, CA

Solomon S. Bernards | Anti-Defamation League

William Braude | Temple Beth-El, Providence, R.I.

Maurice Davis | Indianapolis Hebrew Congregation 

Maurice Eisendrath | president of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations

William Frankel | Beth Hillel Congregation, Wilmette, Illinois

Albert Friedlander | rabbi for Jewish students at Columbia University

Jerome Grollman | United Hebrew Congregation, St. Louis

Joseph Gumbiner | director of UC-Berkeley’s Hillel

Leon Jick | Free Synagogue of Westchester, Mt. Vernon, N.Y.

Wolfe Kelman | Rabbinical Assembly

Saul Leeman | Cranston Jewish Center, Rhode Island

Arthur Lelyveld | Fairmount Temple, Cleveland

Allan Levine | Temple Emanuel, Rochester, N.Y.

Israel Mowshowitz | Hillcrest Jewish Center, New York

Gerald Raiskin | Peninsula Temple Sholom, Burlingame, CA

Steven Riskin | Lincoln Square Synagogue, New York

Nathan Rosen | director of Brown University’s Hillel

Sanford Rosen | Temple Beth El, San Mateo, CA

Murry Saltzman | Temple Beth-El, Chappaqua, N.Y.

Sidney Shanken | Temple Beth-El, Cranford, N.J.

Matthew Simon | Temple Ramah, Los Angeles

Herbert Teitelbaum | Temple Beth Jacob, Redwood City, CA

Andre Ungar | Temple Emanuel, Pascack Valley, N.J.

Joseph Weinberg | Congregation Emanu-El, San Francisco

Perry Nussbaum | Temple Beth Israel in Jackson, MS, was bombed in 1967

Postcard depicting a Jewish temple.

Postcard of Temple Beth Israel and what it looked like before being bombed for being involved in the Civil Rights movement. Credit: Creative Commons.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *